I Hope I Don’t Get Hit For This. (1 of 4)

Disclaimer: I will most definitely start this post by delicately pointing out that am not trying to point fingers at anyone, neither am I being or trying to be offensive to any one. If you feel offended by anything I say or write about herein, I apologise but that can only mean one of two things: it’s either for you or for you!

Dear Gospel artists,

It would be a total waste of time to try and explain myself and what I do. (I sometimes forget what it is exactly). So I will just say, am just a huge music fan and scholar.

I have worked with a few of you, listened to almost all your music (music I can access of course).  I must admit most of the music is OKAY! Considering how far we have come with the gospel music industry in Uganda, we have taken great steps towards putting great quality work out there (Kudos!). For that we have to give it to the hard-working producers (C19 Studios | not an Ad, AbaasaR, among others…) and the various artists who live for proper quality works.

I personally live for good story telling in a song and the acoustics. But, this morning I got an itch in my heart after listening to “Bwalikujjukira By Ps. Wilson Bugembe”, haha, no am not trying to ‘diss’ this song, I love it to bits and I know we all know/love the song, if you don’t know it, get it please.

Moving on swiftly, with the current aggressiveness exhibited on social media – Twitter (mostly), It’s more of a routine for tweeple to praise a new song about whatever they like about it. This is entirely fine considering we all have a right of expression, that said, I hope you (artists) understand when I say, people should know it’s okay if they don’t praise the artist, or the song, or the producer, or the beats, or whatever is nice about the song. If someone likes or doesn’t like your song, it should be really fine for them to tweet whatever they feel is right by them. Whether it’s good or not. And as artists, I implore a holy-ghost-kind-of maturity in regard to how you reply negative tweets and e-mails.(Personally, I can only say as much if not close to nothing in regard to praising any of the above – artist, beats, producer, blah blah).

I hope am not rumbling or if I am, the better.  My point here is quite simple, as an artist, it’s your job to solicit for reviews about your song, but not skew these reviews towards whichever angle you need them to. Let people have the chance to freely express themselves, without having to be afraid of starting a social media fight.

And yes, I can truly Praise One person of all, He who made you and I. He made you, and am glad you are using your talent to bring Him praise.

Until next time,

I remain Yours Truly

Josh Agaba


“For what it is worth, I think we were made for more than just the simple things that we, uh, aspire toward. We were made for more than just telling stories of how much money we can make from selling poison to people.” – LeCrae

3 thoughts on “I Hope I Don’t Get Hit For This. (1 of 4)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

