Autumn Leaves

Life is a long story
Told of and to unsuspecting audiences
I got a house last night
Littered with promise
I navigated my tomorrows
Got notifications
Of intentions unsuspected
An accord of friends
Slowly turned to less
Yes, Autumn leaves

The Crack of dawn
Is never promised
The overbearing
Crackling of the sun
Already forgotten
To not wander back in, yet.

Gifts of heart
Promised
Tenderly offered
Gently I cherished
Abhorrently
Mine landed on a rug
Every word spoken
Stunk worse than the last
Autumn left a day at a time

Zeal to live extirpated
That oh rugged rug
The stench of it
Subtle and gentle enough
To have held and consumed my heart
Turned it out into unrecognizable shades of hate
To love again or never to
Promise to or to destroy all
The crossroads crossed me
Closed me in with no air to breathe

In my last seconds
In this, the arena of love
I breathed my last
Life smiled crookedly
Dirty smirks and no humor
Perky red shot eyes
Wrinkled brows
Dirty teeth
Proud of it all

“Josh, Autumn Leaves”

Stunk more than it stung.

Leave a Reply

